Site Visited 2012/2014

Carbonado

Carbonado Cemetery

Mine power house foundations Carbonado

Centrifugal mine fan

Hoist foundation

Centrifugal mine fan Carbonado

Mine to market transportation tunnel

Hoist foundation

Coal car in river

Carbon Hill Coal Company mine 1915

Power house foundations

Mine to market transportation tunnel

Carbon Hill coal mine bridge footing and hoist foundation

Carbonado Cemetery

Prospecting began in the Carbon River region in the 1870's.  Frances Bisson a native of Whales and Robert Wingate a native of Scotland were some the first to locate coal in 1879.  Wingate prospected for the Carbon Hill Coal Company.


By 1882 the Carbon Hill Coal Company was sold to railroad executive Charles Crocker and his associates and the mines became known as the Crocker mines. Crocker and his partners were known as the "Big Four Railroad Kings".  They owned 4600 acres of mineral rights in Pierce County.  The town of Carbonado was built in the heart of the Crocker properties.  


The coal mines of Carbonado produced about 10 million tons of good grade coal during the 57 years of the mines operations.   As with many of the coal towns in Washington by 1937 the demand for coal had dropped.  The company pulled out leaving Carbonado economically isolated.  In March of 1937 the mine pumps were turned off and the 15 miles of mine tunnels were flooded.


Today the town of Carbonado remains vibrant surrounded by remnants of its rich coal history. 


    


  




Carbonado Mines