The Cannon mine opened around 1910 and was named in honor of the former President of the Pacific Coast Company, Henry W. Cannon of New York. The mine was driven on the Gem seam, the No. 17 seam in the Franklin series. New bunkers were built around the same time, but water problems plagued the mine. The Cannon mine closed around 1919, but the bridge pictured here is still used to carry the City of Black Diamond's water supply over the Green River.
On February 16, 1914 a coal mine accident occurred in the Cannon coal mine, near Franklin, about two miles southeast of Black Diamond, located in east King County. Coal miner Andrew Chernick died in the accident. His partner, Mike Babcanik (1876-1942), was believed dead but survived for seven days trapped underground.
Source: University of Washington